Bed Breakfast Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.5
 Rooms  4.4
 Cleanliness  4.4
 Location  4.8
 Security & Safety  4.6
 Service & Staff  4.7
 Food / Dining  4.3
 Total  4.4

"About my reservation."

User Rating:  3.0
Reviewer:   Karla Y. of Leon, Mexico
Reviewed:   April 15, 2020  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2020     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Hello,

I booked this hostel for two nights. Sadly I tried to call and they told me was close becauce COVID-19 issues, after that last call, I tried to catched them again and it was impossible. Now I don´t know how it works. Can I still change my reservation? Because I am still interested and I changed my fly too. Thanks.

"Great Experience"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Michell V. of Washington, United States
Reviewed:   March 24, 2020  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2020     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Had an awesome time at this hostel! It was a nice walk away from any major attractions I saw, which made it convenient to see the sights I planned on seeing.

I stayed in the all-female dormitory. The rooms were kept in good conditions, as was the private bathroom shared by the dormitory. The living spaces were also kept in good condition.

Front desk was very helpful with my inquiries.

"Had a great time!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Jill D. of New York, United States
Reviewed:   March 17, 2020  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2020     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The hostel was very clean and the hosts did a great job in making sure we were comfortable during our stay as well as giving us amazing recommendations to check out in the city. Would 100% stay again when visiting New Orleans!!!

"Love this hostel"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Amina S. of Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed:   March 12, 2020  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2020     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Great hostel. Had a blast. staff were all friendly and helpful. Also the location is bomb since it's right there in the French quarter. Would come again.

"Best Experience I could ask For"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Tori S. of Clemson, SC, United States
Reviewed:   January 22, 2020  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2020     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The staff was seriously amazing. We stayed for the National Championship game and the accommodations were phenomenal. Free breakfast and a short walk to Bourbon St? Perfect. The location was amazing and the facility is beautiful and historic

"Review of French Quarter & Jazz House"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Jerry V. of Elmhurst, United States
Reviewed:   January 21, 2020  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2019     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I had the privilege of staying at both of their properties, in the French Quarter as well as Mid City. Having had this fairly unique privilege, allow me to provide this comparison below:

IHSP French Quarter House:
Located in a charming property down the street from the authentic Voodoo Museum in the heart of the French Quarter, staying here during Halloween / Voodoo Fest made my trip extra special because I ran into a lot of the festivities I would have missed staying elsewhere.

Besides, the community atmosphere of this place coupled with all the great guests and staff to provide me with the best Halloween I've gotten to experience as an adult. The breakfast was good, value was great, the owners are really cool too! Be sure to make friends with Nick & Nicole before you leave!

The one downside I have to say is that this place can get a bit rambunctious in the evenings (at least on Halloween!) so if you prefer a quiet hostel without much community interaction they actually have another property I'm describing below.

Jazz House:
Located in Mid City, steps from the Canal Streetcar Station, this location is prime for exploring everything outside the quarter from Magazine Street & Tulane to City Park and the Bayou.

A much quieter sister property of IHSP, the Jazz House is a no-frills hostel with everything you need from the living room with a big screen and gaming to clean bathrooms, bedrooms, etc. Still one of the best values in town, there's a good mix of people here as well and I got to meet some interesting folks from around the world but it's not like a party hostel or anything.

In fact, if that's what you're looking for, but you still want to be productive, I'd recommend spacing out your trip between both hostels if you're brave enough. I did this and while I was tired after the 10th day I have to say I would not change a thing.

"Great spot"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Isabelle P. of Québec, Canada
Reviewed:   January 20, 2020  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2020     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I book at IHSP French Quarter House for two main reasons :
1- to be in the French Quarter and be able to travel by foot
2- for easily meeting new people

I was very satisfied on these 2 aspects. Firstly, being able to get around easily, without worrying about public transport schedules, or the cost of a taxi, is a BIG advantage (Bourbon Street is less than 10 minutes walk). Secondly, the IHSP staff is very welcoming, they go to great lengths to connect people (thanks Nicole and Nick!). The backyard was a nice place for hanging out, and the New Year Eve party, in particular, was GREAT.

About the other points, I was in a dorm. So a lot of night owls, and a lot of early birds (nothing to surprise me), but with earplugs it was ok. The shared bathroom was cleaned every day

The breakfast on the spot was nice too, no need to go out early to get food.

To conclude, I highly recommend IHSP French Quarter House!

"Great Stay"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Emily M. of Alabama, United States
Reviewed:   January 3, 2020  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2020     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This is a really high value hostel. Great community and helpful staff. And excellent location!

"I had a great stay!"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Rocio H. of Seattle, United States
Reviewed:   November 23, 2019  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2019     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I had a great experience as a female solo traveler. The location is great and you can walk everywhere. Staff members are so welcoming and you can tell they enjoy their jobs.
The rooms and beds are comfortable. The first night it was really cold but they have space heaters and extra comforters
Shout out to Nick, who organized an outing and took us to really cool bars with live music :)

"Great stay!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Judith G. of New caney texas, United States
Reviewed:   October 21, 2019  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2019     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
It was our first time in New Orleans and I had a great time! The room was very clean, and the staff was amazing! The location is great, we didn’t had to walk a lot to get to bourbon street. It was an awesome stay!


1 - 10 of 279 reviews  Next 10 results




BedBreakfastTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Bed & Breakfast Reviews  |   Write a Bed & Breakfast Review  |   Suggest Bed & Breakfasts  |   Search Bed & Breakfasts  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Bed & Breakfast  |   Link to Us