Bed Breakfast Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  2.9
 Rooms  2.9
 Cleanliness  3.6
 Location  3.4
 Security & Safety  3.0
 Service & Staff  2.3
 Food / Dining  2.6
 Total  3.0

"DONT DEAL WITH THEM!!"

User Rating:  2.8
Reviewer:   Elizabeth H. of Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed:   May 16, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2008     Type:   Senior
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I tried to book at Villa Ulivi in May 2008 giving all particulars. I had no reply or letter of confirmation but had the full amount deducted from my credit card. I have tried all avenues to recoup - no reaction at all!!

"We loved this place!"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Jordana G. of Puebla, Mexico
Reviewed:   January 4, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Eurohosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2006     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Villa Ulivi was great. It's a bit removed from Florence -- so if you want to stay in the city, this is not your place. We loved it because... it seemed quaint and family owned. We got there late at night. A cab dropped us off at an unlit gate on an unlit road. After several attempts, we woke up the guy inside... who opened the creaky old gate. If you'd seen too many horror movies, it could have freaked you out. We walked down a long totally dark tree lined road... and came upon some old family estate (we guessed)... some young guy who'd definitely been awakened from his night's slumber opened the door and let us in to check us in. It was very casual/informal... he seemed to know we were coming, but we weren't necessarily assigned to a room. The house seemed like an old mansion - all the family's stuff -- from paintings and sculptures to books in the shelf-lined walls -- seemed to have been left in place. He gave us a couple of room options. We chose the bigger one -- which had an enormous king sized bed with wonderful old style cotton sheets.. old style meaning thick and white and cold. The foyer/entryway to our room was lined with mirrors and closets, there was an old desk inside and a fancy old, large bathroom. Our window had an incredible moon/night view... and in the day, it looked onto the courtyard below... There we also had breakfast.. the breakfast was the least great part. we were in Italy, you know, you expect good or at least somehow romantic food... But we had packaged croissants with packaged jam. Inside, a senile old person cried "Mama!" over and over. Like I said, it was sweet and quaint. Totally comfortable room with total old school fancy decor -- marble and brass and upholstered closet doors. We loved it. I have pics and videos. :)

"AVOID this place"

User Rating:  1.9
Reviewer:   Steve L. of Perth, Australia
Reviewed:   September 1, 2007  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Europebandb.com)
Traveled:   July 2007     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
AVOID THIS PLACE LIKE THE PLAGUE!

We were physically threatened by the owners and they seized our luggage to extort payment. It was the worst experience we had in two months of travelling in June /July 2007. Let me explain...

The place LOOKS great - it was obviously once a grand villa. The current owners are ruining it by building additional ugly units attached to the main house.

We were given a beautiful looking room in the main house, but the shower head was broken and the toilet leaked onto the floor when we flushed. They convinced us to put up with it overnight.

There was an apparently demented elderly member of the owner's family who would cry out "Mama! Mama! " throughout the night.

Next day, after we returned late from a day of touring, they asked us to move to another room so they could have our room repaired. Apart from the inconvenience of moving our luggage again, we found that the new room had NO hot water and the toilet didn't flush at all. We had to carry a bag across the villa to one of the units to have a shower, and similarly had to go there to use a toilet. It was too late to find another hotel, but of course we cut our stay short and checked out the next day,

When we suggested that they should give us a discount for the inconvenience that they had caused us, they seized our luggage and physically threatened us, insisting on full payment. I was with my wife and daughter, and we feared for our safety. I signed a credit card authority under duress, and we went directly to the Tourist Police.

"AVOID THIS PLACE - IT'S A DISASTER"

User Rating:  1.7
Reviewer:   Steve L. of Perth, Australia
Reviewed:   September 1, 2007  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   July 2007     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
AVOID THIS PLACE LIKE THE PLAGUE!

We were physically threatened by the owners and they seized our luggage to extort payment. It was the worst experience we had in two months of travelling in June /July 2007. Let me explain...

The place LOOKS great - it was obviously once a grand villa. The current owners are ruining it by building additional ugly units attached to the main house.

We were given a beautiful looking room in the main house, but the shower head was broken and the toilet leaked onto the floor when we flushed. They convinced us to put up with it overnight.

There was an apparently demented elderly member of the owner's family who would cry out "Mama! Mama! " throughout the night.

Next day, after we returned late from a day of touring, they asked us to move to another room so they could have our room repaired. Apart from the inconvenience of moving our luggage again, we found that the new room had NO hot water and the toilet didn't flush at all. We had to carry a bag across the villa to one of the units to have a shower, and similarly had to go there to use a toilet. It was too late to find another hotel, but of course we cut our stay short and checked out the next day,

When we suggested that they should give us a discount for the inconvenience that they had caused us, they seized our luggage and physically threatened us, insisting on full payment. I was with my wife and daughter, and we feared for our safety. I signed a credit card authority under duress, and we went directly to the Tourist Police.

"für anspruchsvolle Gäste nicht geeignet"

User Rating:  3.3
Reviewer:   Gerlind S. of Gangelt, Germany
Reviewed:   August 19, 2007  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Eurohosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   July 2007     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (Deutsch-German):
Wenn man sich an der Homepage der Villa Ulivi orientiert, wird man vor Ort etliche Abstriche machen müssen. Die Villa Ulivi ist eine landschaftlich sehr schön gelegene, charmante alte Villa, die leider ihre besten Jahre hinter sich hat. Auch die Bestuhlung auf der Gartenterasse und die Sonnenschirme lassen sehr zu wünschen übrig. Unser Zimmer war etwas heruntergekommen (verschlissenes Sofa, Feuchtigkeitsschäden an Decke und Wände, verstopfter Abfluss in der Kitchenette) jedoch sehr sauber! Das Frühstück war nichts besonderes (keine selbstgemachten Kuchen und auch keine selbstgemachte Marmelade wie auf der Homepage angepriesen) aber durchaus in Ordnung. Wie ich gehört habe, für italienische Verhältnisse sogar sehr gut. Das Personal war freundlich und zuvorkommend. Die Busverbindung in das Stadtzentrum ist sehr gut.
Wichtig:
1.Mückenschutzmittel nicht vergessen! Auch Moskitos fühlen sich dort sehr wohl.
2. Darauf achten, dass man nicht doppelt bezahlt, da die Besitzer der Villa Ulivi die Kreditkarte schon vor Ankunft belasten! In unserem Fall wurden wir beim Auschecken nicht darauf hingewiesen und mussten den Karten-Reklamationssercice bemühen um den überzahlten Betrag zurückerstattet zu bekommen.
Uns hat es trotz alledem sehr gut gefallen. Das Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis war o.k., wir hatten unsere Ruhe (abgesehen vom Straßenlärm - Die Villa liegt an einer stark befahrenen Straße), ein geräumiges Zimmer mit Kitchenette und die Möglichkeit abends auf der Außenterrasse unseren mitgebrachten Rotwein zu genießen.

"Ulivi Nightmare"

User Rating:  2.8
Reviewer:   Chris O. of Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   August 16, 2007  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Eurohosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   December 2006     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Despite having arranged a booking for Ulivi on 31 Dec, my partner and I were denied access to the accommodation, having been told (in no uncertain terms) that our reservation was void.

We were dealt with in a rude and grossly unprofessional manner and left with nowhere to stay on New Year's Eve. Our treatment at the hands of the Ulivi staff was diabolical - the female in question did not even help us make alternative arrangements, even following our polite request.

I would urge all travellers to AVOID this place - we aren't even in a position to review our stay in full! It's a pity, as we were looking forward to staying at the Ulivi. We have travelled extensively across Europe and this has been our worst experience to date.

I appreciate that this will not happen often, but potential guests should be aware...

Many thanks,
Chris

"Nice Experience"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Hector M. of Miami, FL, United States
Reviewed:   July 27, 2007  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   September 2006     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Nice place, quiet, near city center, all around a very nice experience.


1 - 7 of 7 reviews




BedBreakfastTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Bed & Breakfast Reviews  |   Write a Bed & Breakfast Review  |   Suggest Bed & Breakfasts  |   Search Bed & Breakfasts  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Bed & Breakfast  |   Link to Us