Bed Breakfast Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.1
 Rooms  3.9
 Cleanliness  4.1
 Location  3.8
 Security & Safety  4.1
 Service & Staff  4.3
 Food / Dining  4.1
 Total  4.0

"Great hostel, would stay again."

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   Timothy U. of Salt Lake City, United States
Reviewed:   February 1, 2010  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2010     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I saw the earlier reviews, and I think things have changed a lot recently. We had hot water, air conditioning, and reasonably clean accommodations--for a backpacker's place. Just like any backpacker's cabin in Costa Rica, you'll want to bring your own mosquito net.

The WiFi is supposed to only work in the common kitchen area, but our room was adjacent to it so we had access right in our room.

They have a guard dog (very friendly towards guests) that might bark once or twice at night, but it didn't bother me at all. I like the security. The door locks were sturdy, and the staff were very friendly and helpful with money saving tips for seeing the area.

The price was the same as all of the other hostels in the area but included amenities like Cable TV, WiFi, Free Parking, Hot Water and air conditioning. They'll also cook you a wonderful breakfast to get you going. Lastly, they're a few hundred yards away from a great grocery store, and with the kitchen in your dorm that makes eating cheap super easy. I'm amazed that the place wasn't crawling with more backpackers. When we come back to Costa Rica, we'll be spending more time at Sol y Mar Backpackers.

"5 stars for my experience"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Jen B. of California, United States
Reviewed:   November 17, 2009  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   September 2009     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I've never filled out a review before, so I hope I'm doing it right. I was in Costa Rica back in Sept 09 and had the pleasure of meeting Solangie and staying at her hostel Sol Y Mar. This was my first hostel experience and honestly, I don't see if getting any better than this. Solangie is very personable and accommodating and her rates are extremely affordable. I though her hostel area was absolutely adorable and felt like I really got an authentic Costa Rica experience while staying with her in Manuel Antonio. She also cooked breakfast and helped me with directions/plan activities whenever needed. I spent a lot of time walking around Quepos/Manuel Antonio during my 4 day visit, and none of the other hostels I walked through looked remotely as tidey and inviting as hers. I was referred to Sol Y Mar by a good friend who lives in Costa Rica, and am doing my part to continue to recommend this hostel to others who will be traveling through the beautiful Pacific region of Costa Rica. Cheers, Jen Burkholder "Jenna"----Hi Solangie!! Don't know if you ever read these. :-)

"not at all what I had expected"

User Rating:  1.8
Reviewer:   Ellyn Y. of Ellicott City, United States
Reviewed:   April 26, 2009  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2009     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
the entire place seemed to be under construction. kids were running the hostel as the owner was never around. the room was decent, but not so clean. plus, the room was right next to a shared tv room/kitchen (even though i selected the room apart from everything when i reserved the room) and there were people watching tv and coming in and out all night long. not so great with the paper thin walls. i've traveled a lot in CR and you can get more for your money other places.

"good deal!"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Maarten V. of Rotterdam, Netherlands
Reviewed:   January 26, 2009  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   January 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Great host

"Sol y mar is under construction"

User Rating:  3.4
Reviewer:   D M. of Netherlands, Netherlands
Reviewed:   December 19, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Nice rooms with own bathroom and private or shared kitchen and semi-livingroom.
However,the hostel is rebuilding and new buildings and stairs are being built. There is now sign at the road anymore and it all lies on the left side of the road. No sea view or view of any nice forests or trees.
It looks kind of shaby from the outside due to the rebuilding. The inside of the rooms however are really nice, as is the owner.
Across the street there is an other place with seaview and it looks nicer but don't know about the rooms.

"Bad description & no light"

User Rating:  1.8
Reviewer:   Dirk I. of Berlin, Germany
Reviewed:   December 11, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   December 2008     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The description in the internet does not match at all. Unfortunatly we arrived at half a construction place. And the room we had booked had no light. So we had to look for a different accomodation in town.

"excellent hostel"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Kathy B. of Portland, OR, United States
Reviewed:   November 5, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   November 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Sol y Mar was a wonderful place to stay. The woman running the hostel was very nice, she was more like a mother than a host. I had trouble sleeping while I was there and she did everything she could to help me feel more comfortable. The hostel is a little far from the beach but buses run frequently and very cheap so it was no problem. The rooms were clean and well-equipped. I would recommend this hostel to my friends!

"nicest place"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Maibrit J. of denmark, Denmark
Reviewed:   August 9, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
the place was family run, sweet mum and kids. you can cook and watch tv in their living room... she feeds the monkeys in her garden and they all speak very well english, because of the dad.
they are at this time building the place bigger, but still we did not see this place as a real hostel... more like a quiet nice place to sleep. 15-20 min. walk to the beach...

"nice quiet place"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Sarah Ann B. of Rimouski, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed:   July 9, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hostelearth.com)
Traveled:   June 2008     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Nice place, but not visited a lot. This is not the best place to meet people.

"solange"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   John B. of e.boston, United States
Reviewed:   May 12, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
i spent 10 days it was safe, location great, it was a family atmosphere restaurants ,supermarket,bus stop ,beach and town of quepos,manuel antonio nat. park alljust a few minutes from sol y mar i plan on going back in jan,feb bring bananas to feed the white faced monkeysl solange and her sons happy birthday see you all this winter for pizza i highly recomend


1 - 10 of 19 reviews  Next 9 results




BedBreakfastTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Bed & Breakfast Reviews  |   Write a Bed & Breakfast Review  |   Suggest Bed & Breakfasts  |   Search Bed & Breakfasts  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Bed & Breakfast  |   Link to Us