Bed Breakfast Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.8
 Rooms  5.0
 Cleanliness  5.0
 Location  4.2
 Security & Safety  4.7
 Service & Staff  5.0
 Food / Dining  4.8
 Total  4.7

"Poncho Huasi"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Julian F. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   March 8, 2010  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   March 2010     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I used Poncho Huasi as a base to see the lovely town of Salta and to do a tour of the regions vineyards ( bodegas). Poncho Huasi is an excellent B&B, with lovely rooms a pool and very accomodating hosts Nick ( from the UK ) and his delightful wife Alicia. Their company and subsequent advice and guidance on getting the most out of our stay were wonderful. The indepth and annecdotal suggestions on where to go , what to see, what to do and how to do it were invaluable and flawless.
Salta it self is a charming town with great night life and enjoyable palces to visit during the day plus good food and wine at very affordable prices. From Salta one can set out on various 2-3 day easy drives to see spectacular mountainous scenery and try wine at a variety of vineyards ranging in scale from homely to industrial. Cant wait to do it all again.

"En fantastisk plass"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Thomas S. of Oslo, Norway
Reviewed:   October 11, 2009  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   April 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Dette er en strålende plass å dra hvis en ønsker å utforske området rundt Salta. B&B-en har svømmebasseng, rene rom og paret som driver det gir strålende service. Ulempen er at det er ca 45 min. kjøring fra Salta. Men man kan bli hentet på bussholdeplassen i Salta - og bussturen til og fra Salta er ikke noe problem.
For grunnen til å dra hit er ikke landsbyen sjøl - men å dra på ekskursjoner til områdene rundt Salta. Vi dro opp i høyden til San Antonio og Train of the Clouds - broen på 4200 m og tur i "inkariket" nordover inkl. saltsjøer. Fabelaktig kunnskapsrik guide som er engelskfødt og spansktalende. Kona er argentinsk, men også engelsktalende.

Anbefales på det varmeste.

"What luck finding this!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Elizabeth E. of Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   September 7, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   August 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This accommodation looked too good to be true but from the moment Nick met us at the bus station until he dropped us off at the airport we were made to feel welcome in his home. The rooms were spotless and bedding and towels changed every day if we wished. The gardens with the pool were a haven to relax in after all the exciting trips we made. The pool was freezing but it was the middle of winter! The bus to Salta went from outside the door and took about 20 minutes, cost 1 peso! There was a wonderful restaurant, which was amazing value, just over the road.
Nick and Alicia are very knowledgeable about the area and were able to advise us where to go and what to see. They put us in touch with a local guide who showed us amazing scenery. We visited all sorts of interesting restaurants on our trips and even got shown round a school because of his influence.
We had a much better holiday than we might have had because we stayed here!

"Wonderful Gem in Pristine Surroundings"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Kathleen C. of Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed:   September 3, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   September 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
From day one our hosts Nick and Alicia were accomodating and helpful. The two made various arrangements for us and were so knowledgable about Salta and the entirety of Argentina. The accomodation was very spacious and comfortable. The owners expertise along with their very warm personalities made our stay at Poncho Huasi memorable and top-notch. We will be returning!

"Nice and friendly"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Christine P. of Bleskensgraaf, Netherlands
Reviewed:   September 3, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
It's a very nice place to stay. A friendly and hostile couple, beautiful rooms, nice breakfast. Don't doubt, just book!

"Absolutely Wonderful Experience"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Ian G. of Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed:   August 30, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   July 2008     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Planning a trip with the family always means trouble.
We are a married couple, with 3 sons (two of them, teenagers) from Buenos Aires (Argentina).

Poncho Huasi was the answer to our thoughts and needs since the moment we got to its website. A cozy, elegant and quiet "old fashioned Casona" right in the heart of the NOA (Argentinian North West) one of the most beautiful regions of our country.

Due to its perfect location, Poncho Huasi became a strategy point to set our trip.

A few minutes away from the City of Salta, in the very nice neigbourhood of Cerrillos, This great place allows you to choose between the quietness of an evening by the pool in a beautiful garden surrounded by nature or spending time in the city, visiting Galleries, Museums and, of course!, trying regional food in one of its several restaurants. (Don't hesitate treating yourself with a Lama empanada!, it's delicious!).

Alicia and Nick Evans, our Hosts in Poncho Huasi Know all the right places, they helped us and took care of every single detail to make our 4 day stay a wonderful experience, moments we will cherish in our hearts forever. They even joined us (visiting three other cities) as our trip went forward!
we really had a great time, I just can't wait to go there again this summer!

As I said in the beginning of this note, planning a trip is always a mess, but if there were more places like Poncho Huasi (with fabulous Hosts like Alicia and Nick) it would never be like that!

Ian.-


1 - 6 of 6 reviews




BedBreakfastTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Bed & Breakfast Reviews  |   Write a Bed & Breakfast Review  |   Suggest Bed & Breakfasts  |   Search Bed & Breakfasts  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Bed & Breakfast  |   Link to Us