Bed Breakfast Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.6
 Rooms  4.7
 Cleanliness  4.7
 Location  4.3
 Security & Safety  4.7
 Service & Staff  4.9
 Food / Dining  4.2
 Total  4.5

"Great stay"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Jesus T. of GUADALAJARA, Mexico
Reviewed:   July 25, 2018  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2018     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Really lovely place. Recomended 100%

"Great Stay"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Louis B. of Bedford NS, Canada
Reviewed:   May 12, 2018  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2018     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very friendly host. Valuable advice on places to eat and visit. Host advised us on 2 very nice restaurants very close by. We got the true Yucatan experience with her help. Ended up staying 2 more days...

"Magical garden village and charming hosts!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Stephanie S. of College Park, MD, United States
Reviewed:   April 26, 2018  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2018     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Tucked away in a Mexican neighborhood on the “town side” of Puerto Morelos, hidden behind a wrought iron gate, is a wonderfully designed tiny village of casitas in a magical garden setting. This oasis is made even more appealing by its charming hosts Christine and Alain and their menagerie of dogs, cat, and turtle. This was our second stay at Casitas Kinsol – last year we spent two nights which was far too short, so this year we stayed 4 nights – and at the end it was even harder to leave than it was the first time!

Christine and Alain are both welcoming and friendly and they have poured their hearts and souls into creating and maintaining this beautiful little oasis. Christine is a talented designer, and everywhere you look there are carefully chosen and artfully placed objects of pottery and glass and wood. An open-air shared lounge/dining area provides an attractive place to socialize or have a snack, and another lounge above provides a slightly more secluded space with a treehouse feel. Last year we stayed happily in Room #2, their smallest room which we found very cozy, comfortable, and attractive; this year we stayed in Room #1, an authentic Mayan hut with its own garden courtyard and a small kitchen area. The other rooms we saw were all very attractive as well, each very individual and thoughtfully designed. All have very nice bathrooms with beautiful tile work, and all of the rooms were very clean and neat, as were the common areas.

As pet lovers, we thoroughly enjoyed spending time with the elegant cat Mis-ha and the three sweet dogs Taxi, Nena, and Tati. And we very much enjoyed our conversations with Christine and Alain, about the past, present, and future of Puerto Morelos, world affairs, animals, art, and life in general. They also provided excellent advice about local restaurants and things to do.

Puerto Morelos itself is a refreshing change from the more touristed parts of this region. There seem to be just the right number of fellow travelers enjoying the charms of Puerto Morelos to support a nice variety of restaurants while allowing it to remain calm and civilized and relaxing. We enjoyed exploring both the tourist-oriented beach side of Puerto Morelos and the locals-oriented town side. We did not have a rental car but it was easy to get around with taxis or the Kinsol’s own bicycles; it’s a very short and ridiculously cheap taxi ride from Kinsol to the beach (5 minutes and 30 pesos). All in all, Casitas Kinsol is a unique, charming, and lovely place to stay, and an exceptional value compared with the much higher prices of beach resorts and condos. Also the short 20-minute drive to/from the airport make it a very convenient first or last stop if you are visiting other areas. We will definitely be returning to Casitas Kinsol each time we come to the Riviera Maya. Highly recommended!

"Beyond excellent"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Josephine C. of Fort worth, United States
Reviewed:   April 10, 2018  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2018     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Ive travel the world and I have been in many countries, in many fine hotels, by far this is the best place I’ve ever stayed. I am excited about returning again. Very comfortable relaxed atmosphere. Beauty beyond compare. The Decour was so well thought of. Very clean. The host was very pleasant and helpful. I love beauty in nature this room had plenty of both. The common areas were so friendly and inviting. Everything you could possibly want or need was available. I give it five stars

"Artistic Mexican Lodging"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Beverley T. of Calgary Alberta, Canada
Reviewed:   April 3, 2018  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2018     Type:   Senior
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Christine has worked hard to make her little hotel as comfortable as possible. The place is spotless, lots of hot water, clean and comfy beds, delightful green courtyard. There is good wifi and even a room safe. The lobby cum office features inviting sofas, huge fridge for guests, and toaster oven. She took me to the doctor when I was ill which I so much appreciated. Keep in mind this place is in Colonia but near to local restaurants and shuttle transportation to the beach, as well as short walk to ADO bus stop for transport to Cancun or Puerto del Carmen.

"Great experience at Casitas Kinsol"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Dave H. of Boonsboro MD, United States
Reviewed:   February 16, 2018  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2018     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
If you’re going to visit Puerto Morelos this is the place to stay!

"Charming place with VERY helpful owner and staff"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Susan K. of Rio Dulce, Guatemala
Reviewed:   November 30, 2017  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2017     Type:   Senior
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Casitas Kinsol was charming, filled with lovely little touches, funky, interesting. The owners and Staff were quickly responsive and very helpful. A great little place if you want to get away from fake and artificial tourist spots,you don’t see many places like this any more.... I was prettty stressed when I got there and there were very patient with me! I wish I had stayed there longer than the one night.

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Miguel D. of cdmx, Mexico
Reviewed:   November 27, 2017  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining

"Casitas Kinsol is amazing"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Scott M. of Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed:   November 22, 2017  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Casitas kinsfolk was fantastic! The whole place is beautiful and I loved my cabana. I wish I could have stayed longer

"Hard to review"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Wayne M. of San Jose, United States
Reviewed:   August 16, 2017  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2017     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
No-show / No-call


1 - 10 of 127 reviews  Next 10 results




BedBreakfastTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Bed & Breakfast Reviews  |   Write a Bed & Breakfast Review  |   Suggest Bed & Breakfasts  |   Search Bed & Breakfasts  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Bed & Breakfast  |   Link to Us