Bed Breakfast Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.6
 Rooms  4.8
 Cleanliness  4.9
 Location  4.6
 Security & Safety  4.6
 Service & Staff  5.0
 Food / Dining  4.4
 Total  4.7

"Casa Hostel 199"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Lynn N. of Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, United States
Reviewed:   April 5, 2010  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Chileinstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2010     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Property is an older home converted into a B/B. Owners are on site, speak English and are very friendly/helpful. They provide a computer/free internet. We arrived 2 days after the large Earthquake and damage to the home appeared minimal. Nice view from the view bedrooms of the working harbor. The room are all upstairs so you need to be able to physically handle a long, straight staircase. We had problems in the room with mosquitos so insure the window are shut tight before going to bed. Restaurants nearby. Home is quite a ways from the main bus station so take a cab to the hotel.

"nice view in an older well-kept home"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Werner K. of Green Valley, United States
Reviewed:   December 30, 2009  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   December 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Enjoyed our visit there. Very nice hosts, friendly and helpful. A great patio to have your breakfast while overlooking the harbor.

"Excellent location"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Melissa G. of Steamboat Springs, CO, United States
Reviewed:   October 30, 2009  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
IF you decide to stay in Valpo, this is a very good place to see a majority of the sights on foot. It is in an excellent location with great views. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. The hosts were helpful and their home very inviting, especially the front deck. There is an excellent restaurant close by, and of course the funicular is right at the door! We walked to just about everything we wanted to see, and had no problems.

"A DELIGHTFUL PLACE TO STAY"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Alex D. of new york, United States
Reviewed:   September 18, 2009  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   September 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I STAYED 2 NIGHTS AT THE CASA HOSTAL 199 , I LOVED THE HOUSE IT HAD A BEAUTIFUL VIEW OVERLOOKING THE CITY AND HARBOUR OF VALPARAISO. THE ROOM WAS LARGE WITH THAT GREAT VIEW !
THE HUSBAND AND WIFE OWNERS ARE LOVELY PEOPLE THEY SUGESTED SOME GREAT RESTUARANTS FOR ME AND MADE THE RESERVATION 'S THEY ARE A DELIGHT
NOT ONLY WILL I STAY HERE AGAIN I HAVE ALREADY TOLD MY FRIENDS TO STAY HERE WHEN THEY VIST CHILE!

"Teriffic place to stay!"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Bonnie R. of Boca Raton, United States
Reviewed:   March 23, 2009  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   March 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I can't recommend this Hostel enough. The owners were extremely helpful, the property was clean, the view magnificent, the breakfast lovely.

I needed to get to the airport in Santiego at 5 in the morning, and the owners found a good driver for me. They also helped with a guide, and gave me good suggestions for places to tour, and where to have dinner.

Staying with them was a pleasure!

"Excellent"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Maripi L. of Toronto, Canada
Reviewed:   March 13, 2009  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I loved this cozy hotel. The owners, Ale and Trini, were very helpful and caring. We were going on a cruise that was starting in Valparaiso and so we decided to stay here. Our cruise ship must have arrived early morning and when we woke up and came down for breakfast we saw it from the balcony. There were other cruise passengers in the hotel and it wsa nice to have met them early. Valparaiso has lots of character and is not very touristy. There are many good seafood restaurants.

"Very nice"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Robert M. of Selfkant, Germany
Reviewed:   January 20, 2009  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   January 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Unless we stayed only one night in Casa Hostal,we had a wonderful time.
The owners are very very friendly and helped us very good.
Breakfast was excellent.Thanks for all.

"Best view of the town!"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Angelika F. of Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed:   January 15, 2009  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hemispherehostels.com)
Traveled:   January 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
After 4 days in Valparaiso I'm very happy to have chosen this private and beautiful old house on the Artelleria hill with a panoramic view all over the town! The hosts are absolutely nice and helpful, and when knowing how to get there, you even don't need a taxi: Just take the Trolleybus until the last station (Aduana), then the Funicular (Elevator) to the top of the hill, where on the left hand side downhill you can already see the house 199. Make sure, that you booked a room with view - it's the best you can get in town!

"casa hostal 199"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Carol B. of kelowna, Canada
Reviewed:   January 12, 2009  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   January 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
we liked hese B & B accommodations. very clean, crisp white linens, great decor, easy to find and reach by bus, train, taxi or walk and use the assensor. supper view over the port. the hosts were extremely friendly and helpful with city information and personal tour arrangements. i would reccommend this place with out question.

"Very sweet hostel with excellent breakfast and lovely owners!"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Catharina L. of Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed:   November 21, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Clearly one of the best views in town!
Best breakfast on our trip!
Friendlieness of owners makes you feel at home immediatelly.
Very clean and nice rooms.


1 - 10 of 19 reviews  Next 9 results




BedBreakfastTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Bed & Breakfast Reviews  |   Write a Bed & Breakfast Review  |   Suggest Bed & Breakfasts  |   Search Bed & Breakfasts  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Bed & Breakfast  |   Link to Us