Bed Breakfast Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.6
 Rooms  3.6
 Cleanliness  3.4
 Location  4.7
 Security & Safety  4.5
 Service & Staff  3.4
 Food / Dining  3.4
 Total  3.8

"Great stays"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Tim H. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   July 18, 2009  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   July 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Clean, basic rooms with friendly and helpful staff. Fantasic location being near some very chilled hutongs and Ho Hai. Free bike hire was useful for getting around but be careful with traffic. We stayed several times during our trip and one of the rooms was a little small but otherwise would highly recommend

"Drum & Bell"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Christine C. of Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   July 13, 2009  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   July 2009     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This hostel is in a great location, both near a subway station, and in an interesting area. On a main road, easy to find, and easy to get to other areas in Beijing either by bus or subway. Some favourite Beijing bars and restaurants are nearby. Try the Drum and Bell bar (with roof terrace) in the courtyard area between the Drum Tower and the Bell Tower.
I wanted a single room for some peace and quiet; clean, ensuite bathroom, reasonable price. Very tiny window near the ceiling.. but you don't come to Beijing to stay in your room! Friendly staff. Internet access. Join the YHA for discount, and you can use the YHA card in other countries..

"Typical"

User Rating:  2.9
Reviewer:   Ira G. of Qingdao, Shandong, China
Reviewed:   June 21, 2009  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2009     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I stayed at the Drum Tower Youth hostel for four nights. I was in a four-bed room, but most of the time I had the room to myself. If you plan on staying there, book through this site, it's cheaper than their posted prices at the counter. The only complaint was that they have washing machines and a dryer in the common bathroom area, that you can use for a price. The problem is that they have not posted that you need to pay to use the machines. I put my clothes in the washer and came back later to find them half-washed and taken out of the machine. I put them back in, and had a knock on my door a few minutes later. They then informed me that to use the machines you need to pay, and that this is common practice at hotels. I speak fluent Chinese and had a heated discussion about whether this is a hostel or a hotel. They suffer from delusions of grandeur.

"Not very homely"

User Rating:  3.8
Reviewer:   J B. of Nanjing, Canada
Reviewed:   April 24, 2009  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hostelearth.com)
Traveled:   April 2009     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I found this hostel kind of cold and not very welcoming. The staff at the desks did their jobs but there wasn't anything particularly great about the place that made you want to hang out there and socialize. If you are the type of traveller who likes to hang out at the hostel and meet a lot of other people for travel tips or just to make friends, this may not be the place for you. If, on the other hand, you are the type who just needs an accommodation setup and will be on the go a lot in a central location, then it would work for you.

"bEIJING dRUM tOWER hOSTEL"

User Rating:  3.5
Reviewer:   Federico M. of CAPE TOWN, South Africa
Reviewed:   December 24, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   December 2008     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Great

"Very nice location"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Pedro S. of Porto, Portugal
Reviewed:   August 28, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2008     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Beijing Drum Tower Youth Hostel is right around the drum tower and also several nice restaurants and bars with great terraces. Also, there is a very nice lake near by and some interesting hutongs. About the hostel itself, the rooms are very nice, however, the shared bathrooms could be a bit more clean and with more showers. The staf is very helpful and can arranje trips to the great wall.

"Beijing Drum Tower - Wouldn't Recommend!"

User Rating:  1.9
Reviewer:   Neal A. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   August 21, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We arrived to unhelpful, rude staff. We booked a mixed dorm and they didn't have any and they gave us an unclean room with no window instead. Hostel was noisey, most noise from the staff not guests till all hours of the night. Staff often asleep at the desk...weird place!

"Drum Tower fantastic location, safe & clean"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Emma N. of Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed:   August 1, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   July 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Perfect for single traveller however do not expect much English from operators at desk. The day tour I did from the hostel was okay, but do not expect much English from the guides or to learn much more from the guide. You pay really for the transportation. I chose to trek wall at Simutai, and it was fantastic, without the crowds that I have been told about that stalk Badalong.
Accommodation though, friendly, clean, quiet enough. Large rooms. No shared or individual kitchen area which was a bit dissapointing, and the gorgeous cafe on the rooftop didn't seem to be open at the right times, or serve the meals stated on the menus. Street food great though.

"Beijing Drum Tower YH"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Susan K. of Coffs Harbour NSW, Australia
Reviewed:   May 17, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2008     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The staff were amazingly helpful. The rooms very clean and cozy in fact they need signs saying do not make up my bed - as they change the linen every day. The place is so handy to every thing and the area is one of the best in China. If you love Asia you will love this place - as every thing is within walking distance and the Famous old Beijing or Hutong area is so very beautiful - the whole place is charming, intriguing and the discoveries are endless.

"very recomended"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Ana A. of Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   August 29, 2007  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2007     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
very recomended hostel, despite the toilets where a bit dirty some days the hole hostel is in a very good condition all new and realy great and helpfull staff would visit it definetly
they offer diferent tours some of them cheaper than what you can find if you try and do it by yourself. recomended trip the one day to the great wall whith no shoping. 10 km. walk bring lots of water although there is people on the wall selling them and misteriously they are always ice cold even in a very hot day, how they do it?!
overall very good value for money and would go back there definetly!


1 - 10 of 10 reviews




BedBreakfastTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Bed & Breakfast Reviews  |   Write a Bed & Breakfast Review  |   Suggest Bed & Breakfasts  |   Search Bed & Breakfasts  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Bed & Breakfast  |   Link to Us